News Darpan The Digital Mirror of India
Breaking
National General India

AICPI-IW rises to 154.4, raising focus on 65% DA for central employees

AICPI-IW rose to 154.4 in August 2026, keeping attention on a possible 65% DA for central employees after four readings remain.

AICPI-IW rises to 154.4, raising focus on 65% DA for central employees
News Darpan AI image

क्रिस्टा पाइक

The August reading of the All-India Consumer Price Index for Industrial Workers has moved higher, adding to the calculation that will determine the next dearness allowance revision for central government employees.

The index increased by 1.2 points to 154.4 in August 2026, compared with 153.2 in July 2026, according to the Labour Bureau under the Ministry of Labour & Employment.

The increase has renewed attention on whether dearness allowance could rise to 65%, although the August figure alone does not settle the final percentage.

Four more monthly readings, covering September to December, are still required for the DA calculation linked to January 1, 2027.

August inflation reading raises focus on the next DA revision

The All-India Consumer Price Index for Industrial Workers, known as the AICPI-IW, is used in the calculation of dearness allowance for central government employees.

The index stood at 154.4 in August 2026, up from 153.2 in the previous month.

The Labour Bureau described the increase in its press release dated September 30, 2026.

“The All-India CPI-IW for August, 2026 increased by 1.2 points and stood at 154.4 points (one hundred fifty-four point four),” the Labour Bureau said in the release.

The separate inflation measure for the month also increased to 4.96% from 4.57% in the previous month.

The August movement therefore brought two related figures into focus: the rise in the index used for the DA calculation and the increase in the reported inflation rate.

The index is not itself the dearness allowance percentage, but it provides the data used to work out the allowance.

That distinction matters because the final DA rate depends on the prescribed calculation period rather than on one monthly reading alone.

Under the 7th Central Pay Commission formula, each DA instalment is worked out using the average of the index over a 12-month window.

A single increase can improve the average, but the final outcome also depends on the remaining readings in the relevant window.

Why the 65% figure is being discussed

The question of whether DA could reach 65% has emerged after the August inflation data was released.

The August data is relevant to the DA payable with effect from January 1, 2027.

However, the calculation is not complete because the readings for September, October, November and December have not yet been included in the source material.

Those four readings will form part of the remaining data needed for the January 1, 2027 calculation.

The 12-month average prescribed under the 7th Central Pay Commission formula is the basis for each instalment.

This means the eventual DA percentage cannot be established solely from the move from 153.2 to 154.4.

The rise does provide an indication that price-related data has moved upward in August, but it does not amount to an announcement of a 65% allowance.

The available information identifies the question being examined, rather than confirming that the proposed percentage has been approved.

The next four readings will therefore be important for the average used in the January 2027 revision.

A sustained rise in the index through the relevant 12-month window can translate into a higher DA percentage.

That possibility is the reason the August increase is being watched by central government employees and pensioners.

The data has changed the calculation input, but the source does not state a final DA percentage for the next instalment.

How the index is compiled

The AICPI-IW is compiled every month from retail prices collected from 317 markets.

These markets are spread across 88 industrially important centres.

The monthly data therefore reflects price movements across the specified markets and centres used for the index.

The index covers groups that form part of the consumption basket used for the calculation.

Food and beverages carry the heaviest weight in that basket.

Their index increased from 158.9 in July to 161.3 in August.

That was a rise of 2.4 points, the largest increase among the groups listed in the Labour Bureau’s release.

The movement in food and beverages was therefore larger than the overall 1.2-point rise in the General Index.

The General Index moved from 153.2 in July to 154.4 in August.

The difference between the group-level movements and the overall index reflects the way the listed categories contribute to the broader index.

The August data also recorded smaller increases in several other categories.

The index for pan, supari, tobacco and intoxicants rose from 176.9 to 177.3.

The index for clothing and footwear moved from 158.0 to 158.2.

Fuel and light increased from 159.9 to 160.0.

The miscellaneous category rose from 148.2 to 149.0.

Housing was the only listed group that stayed flat.

Its index remained at 143.0.

The category-wise figures show that the August increase was not uniform across every group.

Food and beverages recorded the largest movement among the categories identified in the source.

Housing, by contrast, did not change between the two months shown.

DA is revised twice a year

Dearness allowance is revised twice a year for central government employees.

The revisions take effect from January 1 and July 1.

The purpose of DA is to neutralise the impact of price rise on the pay of central government employees.

The allowance is expressed as a percentage of basic pay.

The Centre generally makes the announcements in March and October, while the revisions are rolled out from January and July.

The calculation is based on data from the All-India Consumer Price Index.

The AICPI-IW readings are therefore connected to the timing and amount of the two annual DA instalments.

The August 2026 reading falls within the data relevant for the instalment effective from January 1, 2027.

The July 1 revision follows the same broad six-month revision cycle described in the source.

The source does not provide the monthly readings for the complete 12-month window that will determine the January 2027 figure.

It also does not state that the Centre has approved a 65% DA rate.

The current development is therefore the release of an important input into the calculation.

The final figure will depend on the prescribed average and the remaining readings identified for the calculation.

What the previous revision changed

The last DA hike was announced in April, when the Finance Ministry increased DA from 58% to 60% of basic salary.

That increase was effective from January 1, 2026.

The latest announcement is also described as a 2% hike that took DA to 60% of basic salary.

The source places that announcement in April.

The two most recent hikes before the latest data discussion were 2% and 3%, respectively, for January and July 2025.

The history under the 7th Central Pay Commission includes 10 hikes since 2021.

The highest of those was an 11% increase in July 2021.

These earlier revisions provide context for the attention being paid to the next instalment.

Employees and pensioners are also expecting another DA hike from the Centre during Diwali, based on past announcements in 2024 and 2025.

The expectation described in the source remains separate from a confirmed decision on the next percentage.

The August index movement is relevant because the coming revision will use the prescribed 12-month average.

The prior revision from 58% to 60% also shows that a change in the allowance is expressed as a percentage of basic salary.

The source does not provide the amount that any individual employee would receive from a future increase.

That is because the allowance is calculated as a percentage of basic pay, and basic pay differs across employees.

Who could benefit from a DA or DR hike

More than 1 crore individuals could gain from DA and Dearness Relief hikes, according to the source.

This group comprises some 50 lakh central government employees and nearly 65 lakh pensioners.

The pensioner group includes defence staff, railway personnel and retirees.

DA applies to employees’ salaries.

Dearness Relief, or DR, affects pension payouts.

The distinction is based on who receives the benefit and where it is reflected.

For employees, the relevant impact is on salary.

For retirees, the relevant impact is on pension payouts.

The same source material describes DA as a component of the salary break-up for central and public sector employees.

It also states that DA is credited to the monthly salary of central government employees.

The source does not say that the next revision will apply to private-sector employees.

It specifically describes HRA as an allowance that is also available to private-sector employees.

The distinction between DA and DR is important because the two benefits are linked to different recipients.

A DA revision would concern the employee salary component, while a DR revision would concern pension payouts.

The source discusses both in the context of the possible benefit from future revisions.

Effect on salary calculations

For central government employees, basic salary is used to calculate several other components of compensation.

These components include provident fund contributions, pension, allowances and gratuity.

As a result, higher DA can affect more than the standalone DA line in the salary structure.

The source says that higher DA, especially in the context of DA merger demands, could lead to a substantial and automatic increase in overall pay.

It also says that other dependent allocations could consequently increase.

The scale of the impact would depend on the employee’s basic salary and the applicable salary structure.

The source does not give an individual pay example or a specific rupee increase for any pay level.

It does, however, establish that DA is calculated as a percentage of basic pay.

That means a uniform DA percentage can produce different monetary amounts for employees whose basic pay is different.

The calculation also explains why the question of a rise to 65% is being framed in terms of basic salary rather than a fixed amount.

The August index movement by itself does not identify the amount payable to any particular employee.

The remaining index readings and the prescribed average are required before that calculation can be completed.

DA, CTC and tax treatment

DA is part of an employee’s cost-to-company, or CTC, according to the source.

It is included in the salary break-up for central and public sector employees.

For central government employees, DA is credited to the monthly salary.

DA is also subject to income tax in its entirety as per the applicable tax slab.

The Income-Tax Rules require the DA component to be stated separately in a taxpayer’s income-tax return.

The tax treatment described for DA is different from the treatment described for House Rent Allowance.

HRA is designed to assist employees with housing expenses.

HRA is taxable under a different head.

HRA can be exempt from income tax up to a certain limit.

DA and DR, by contrast, are not exempt in the manner described for HRA.

The source does not identify a separate tax calculation for a possible future DA rate of 65%.

It only states the general tax treatment applicable to DA.

Any change in the DA percentage would therefore be relevant to salary calculations, CTC and the tax treatment already described.

The source does not provide a revised take-home salary figure after a possible future hike.

The role of the 8th Central Pay Commission

The 8th Central Pay Commission is the latest such panel since Independence.

A Central Pay Commission is constituted every 10 years.

The panel is formally known as the Central Pay Commission.

It is responsible for decisions on contributions, retirement benefits and government spending.

DA revision is among the issues under discussion by the 8th Central Pay Commission.

The panel is expected to submit its final recommendations around 18 months after its constitution.

The source says the recommendations are expected by May 2027 at the latest.

That discussion is separate from the immediate calculation of the DA instalment relevant from January 1, 2027.

The January 2027 calculation will use the AICPI-IW data and the 12-month average prescribed under the 7th Central Pay Commission formula.

The 8th Central Pay Commission’s broader discussion may cover DA revision, but the source does not state what its final recommendation will be.

It also does not state that the panel has approved a particular DA percentage.

The immediate issue remains the completion of the monthly readings required for the January 2027 calculation.

The longer-term issue is the 8th Central Pay Commission’s consideration of DA revision among the issues under discussion.

What the August data establishes

The August AICPI-IW reading increased by 1.2 points to 154.4.

The previous month’s index was 153.2.

The reported inflation rate increased from 4.57% to 4.96%.

Food and beverages recorded the largest rise among the listed groups, moving up by 2.4 points.

Housing remained unchanged at 143.0.

The data was compiled from retail prices collected every month across 317 markets in 88 industrially important centres.

The reading is relevant to DA payable from January 1, 2027.

Four monthly readings from September to December are still pending in the calculation described by the source.

The DA instalment will be worked out using the average of the index over a 12-month window.

A sustained rise through that window can translate into a higher DA percentage.

The source does not confirm that the allowance will rise to 65%.

It establishes that the August data has increased the index used for the calculation and has made the next DA revision a matter of renewed attention.

For employees and pensioners, the significance of the release lies in what it adds to the calculation rather than in a final announcement.

The next confirmed figure will depend on the remaining readings and the prescribed 12-month average.

Frequently asked questions

What was the AICPI-IW reading in August 2026?

The AICPI-IW rose by 1.2 points to 154.4 in August 2026, from 153.2 in July.

Why is a 65% dearness allowance being discussed?

The August increase in the AICPI-IW has renewed attention on whether dearness allowance for central government employees could rise to 65%.

Does the August reading alone confirm a 65% DA rate?

No. The final DA rate depends on the prescribed calculation period and the remaining monthly readings.

Which readings are still needed for the January 1, 2027 DA calculation?

Readings for September, October, November and December are still required.

#aicpi-iw#central employees#dearness allowance

Most read

  1. 1

    Air China Adds Extra Flight for Passengers Stranded in Fuel-Starved Cuba

  2. 2

    Western disturbance to bring rain, hail and strong winds across north India

  3. 3

    Yogi Adityanath Directs No Occupied Houses Be Demolished for Achhalda Bridge

  4. 4

    Gwalior Temple Truck Crash Kills 12, Injures 28-29 Devotees During Navratri

  5. 5

    Schools Shut in Five Tamil Nadu Districts, Including Chennai, Amid Heavy Rain

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

Comments appear after review.